Ann Cleeves Profile

Ann Cleeves
Ann Cleeves

Appearing at Bay Tales Live

As Ann told us on her appearance on Bay Tales Live #3, her first novel was published in 1986. In 2016 she celebrated the publication of 30 novels in 30 years.

35 years after the publication of her first novel, Ann is one of the nation’s favourite crime novelists, and we were thrilled to have her on the show.

In 2006, Ann was the first winner of the Duncan Lawrie Dagger Award of the Crime Writers’ Association for Raven Black – the first of the eight (so far) Shetland novels. Ann has also been shortlisted for numerous CWA ‘Daggers’ and in 2017 was presented with the Diamond Dagger – the highest honour in British Crime Writing. Martin Edwards, Chair of the CWA, described Ann’s contribution to the crime writing world as ‘magnificent’.

Now living in Whitley Bay, Ann has, of course, put her surroundings to great use through the nine volume Vera series, and been a strong supporter of local causes – ourselves included.


The Vera Series in Order:

Shetland: The Four Seasons Quartet

Shetland: The Four Elements Quartet

Stand Alone Novels

Social Media

Follow Ann on Twitter at: @anncleeves

Visit Ann’s website for information on all her books and a whole lot more at:

E-mail Hours Contact us and we'll get back to you as soon as possible!
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close